Vote!

French election: Nicolas Sarkozy v François Hollande – live updates and results

Nicolas Sarkozy is the most unpopular French president ever to run for re-election while François Hollande is hoping for the Socialist's first presidential win since 1988. Polls close in major cities at 8pm CEST (7pm BST/2pm EST) with early counts soon after6.01pm: Et c'est parti! Welcome to the Guardian's live blog of the second and final round of the French presidential election. Will Socialist Party challenger François Hollande, as expected, come in pole position or will incumbent Nicolas Sarkozy defy the polls and win a second term as president of...

read more...

Share |

Published By: Guardian World - 4 days ago